‘One of Us is Lying’ Series – A Book Review

Hello Bookworms, and welcome to another post from The Paperback Princess! I hope you all had a wonderful week! I have been reading a lot lately, so be ready for lots of book reviews in the future! Today I am going to do a review of the book series that I just finished. Let’s get right into it!

Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA

My Ratings: Book #1 – 7/10, Book #2 – 9/10, Overall Rating – 8/10

“A sex tape. A pregnancy scare. Two cheating scandals. And that’s just this weeks update”

This series was the first mystery/thriller that I’ve ever read. It’s also the series that got me OBSESSED with mystery and thrillers. (I’ve now read over 7 mystery and thriller books) This series was really good. It technically isn’t over yet as there is a new book coming out sometime next year. But seriously, if you like a good murder mystery, or just mysteries in general, definitely check this series out. The characters are great and the stories keep you guessing until the very last page (especially the second book!) Also, there is a TV show that was made about this series as well, if you wanna check it out. It was pretty good. It’s only one season right now though. I’ll leave the synopsis for each book down below.

One of Us is Lying (Book 1)

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

One of Us is Next (Book 2)

A ton of copycat gossip apps have popped up since Simon died, but in the year since the Bayview four were cleared of his shocking death, no one’s been able to fill the gossip void quite like he could. The problem is no one has the facts.

Until now.

This time it’s not an app, though—it’s a game.

Truth or Dare.

Phoebe’s the first target. If you choose not to play, it’s a truth. And hers is dark.

Then comes Maeve and she should know better—always choose the dare.

But by the time Knox is about to be tagged, things have gotten dangerous. The dares have become deadly, and if Maeve learned anything from Bronwyn last year, it’s that they can’t count on the police for help. Or protection.

Simon’s gone, but someone’s determined to keep his legacy at Bayview High alive. And this time, there’s a whole new set of rules.

And that’s it for this review! I really hope you enjoyed it. Let me know in the comments if you’ve read this series yet or not. I promise it’s a good one! Join me next time for another book review! Happy Reading, Bookworms!

-The Paperback Princess 👑

Published by thelostbookmark

Hi there! My name is Ashley and I am obsessed with all things books and writing. I am 31 years old and have a fur baby and a wonderful boyfriend of 4 years. I am in the process of going back to school to get a BA in English and Creative Writing. My dream careers are to work in book publishing, be a writer, or open up my own bookstore!

Leave a comment