‘The Lake’ – A Book Review

Hello Bookworms, and welcome to another post from The Paperback Princess! I hope you all had a great week! I am getting back into the swing of classes, so I’ve been a little overwhelmed. Today I will be doing a book review of ‘The Lake’ by Natasha Preston so let’s get right into it!

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, YA

Number of Pages: 378

My Rating: 7/10

I finished this book in a day. The plot was really good, as was the mystery aspect of it. But the writing was pretty bad. It sounded like a teenager wrote this, but the author is actually in her 30’s. The ending was a little rushed for my taste. It was pretty good, but definitely rushed. Overall I really enjoyed this book and was once again caught up in a good mystery. I would recommend this one as long as you can get past the bad writing.

Here’s the synopsis from Goodreads: Esme and Kayla once were campers at Camp Pine Lake. They’re excited to be back this year as CITs (counselors in training). Esme loves the little girls in her cabin and thinks it’s funny how scared they are of everything–spiders, the surly head counselor, the dark, boys . . . even swimming in the lake! It reminds her a little of how she and Kayla used to be, once. Before . . . it happened.

Because Esme and Kayla did something bad when they were campers. Afterwards, the girls agreed to keep it secret. They’ve moved on–or so they say–and this summer is going to be great. Two months of sun, s’mores, and flirting with the cute boy counselors. But then they get a note. THE LAKE NEVER FORGETS. And the secret they’ve kept buried for so many years is about to resurface.

And that’s it for this one! I hope you all enjoyed the book review. Join me next week for another post! Happy Reading, Bookworms!

-The Paperback Princess 👑

Published by thelostbookmark

Hi there! My name is Ashley and I am obsessed with all things books and writing. I am 31 years old and have a fur baby and a wonderful boyfriend of 4 years. I am in the process of going back to school to get a BA in English and Creative Writing. My dream careers are to work in book publishing, be a writer, or open up my own bookstore!

Leave a comment